Comments on our Stateline Genealogy Club trip to WHS Wisconsin Historical Society, Madison on Oct. 23, 2015

Seven of us caught the Van Galder Bus in South Beloit IL and traveled worry-free to Madison for a short tour, and research at WHS.

It was a great way to spend a rainy fall afternoon.

We all got some good, unexpected results.  Here are some comments:

 

I found the book on my family while searching the WHS on-line catalog at our computer session after the regular meeting webinar.

I could not wait until our tour, so I went to WHS by myself  2 weeks ago, and now I am back to find more.

The Library staff helped me find a collection in the stacks that I had not known about.

 

I want to thank you again for the trip to the WI Historical Society on Friday.

It is a wonderful facility and the help I got at the reception desk was phenomenal.

I found a few ancestors I was searching for, got two leads to other agencies;

and since coming back home have found 18 marriages, births, deaths of my ancestors.

My friend and I had fun.

 

We found the —– family information here.  We had not been able to find anything on them before.

 

I have a (county history) book on my Pennsylvania family waiting for me here, that  I found last time.

 

Advice from Lori Bessler at WHS – “If you have a very large family, fill out an Individual Sheet / Research Log on each person.”

 

I will not be able to go to the Historical Society trip.

I swear I will catch one of your awesome trips yet.

 

(Note from Vicki – I handed out a Family History form that I have found to be the most helpful version as it has large spaces and room to list 12 children.

I was still trying to decide on which forms to use when we went on the WHS tour last year.

In spring of 2016, next year, we will be going on a Stateline Genealogy Club tour and research trip to the Hedberg Public Library “The Janesville Room”.

They have many reference resources for Rock County, as well as for Janesville.)

 

 

2 thoughts on “Comments on our Stateline Genealogy Club trip to WHS Wisconsin Historical Society, Madison on Oct. 23, 2015”

  1. Carolyn Colcord

    Comment: I want to thank Vicki Hahn, Beloit Genealogy Club, once again for the trip to the WI Historical Society on Friday 10/23/3015.

    We took Van Galder Buse from South Beloit to Madison, and were dropped just 2 blocks from the library building. It is a wonderful facility and recently restored.

    Upon arrival we received a short welcome including information on how to use the many forms of materials available. The help I received at the reception desk throughout m our visit was phenomenal, well above the assistance I’d received from other facilities during many years of research.

    I found a few ancestors I was searching for, got two leads to other agencies housing vital records; and since coming back home, have found 18 marriages, births, deaths of my ancestors (from those leads).

    I would urge everyone to go there, at least one time, to compliment the searches you’ve already made.

    Looking forward to visiting again!

    Time: Thursday, 29 October, 2015

    Like

Leave a Reply

